Monday, October 4, 2010

It's been quite a weekend for Australia. Have we all had enough yet?

Oh peeps, what a tiring weekend Australia has had.

First the AFL (football) grand final had to be replayed because last week when they had the grand final Collingwood and St Kilda ended the game tied. And instead of deciding to play on for ten minutes to see who kicked the first goal or point, the dickeads that run the footy decided to bring everyone back to do it all again. And for those who care, Collingwood won.

Then there was the Nrl (rugby) grand final between St George Illawarra (Dragons) and the Sydney Roosters. The Dragons won.

And while they were playing yesterday (Sunday), half of the country was struggling to deal with something else.

Daylight bloody savings.
With a land mass close to 7.7 million square kilometres, Australia is the world’s sixth largest country and is divided into three separate time zones.
Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) - Covers the eastern states of Queensland, New South Wales (with the exception of the town of Broken Hill), Victoria, Tasmania and the Australian Capital Territory. AEST is equal to Coordinated Universal Time plus 10 hours (UTC +10).

Australian Central Standard Time (ACST) - Covers the state of South Australia, the town of Broken Hill in western New South Wales and the Northern Territory. ACST is equal to Coordinated Universal Time plus 9 ½ hours (UTC +9 ½).

Australian Western Standard Time (AWST) - Covers Western Australia. AWST is equal to Coordinated Universal Time plus 8 hours (UTC +8).Daylight Saving Time is the practice of advancing clocks one hour during the warmer months of the year. In Australia, Daylight Saving Time is observed in New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia, Tasmania, and the Australian Capital Territory.

Daylight Saving Time begins at 2am (AEST) on the first Sunday in October and ends at 2am (AEST) (which is 3am Australian Eastern Daylight Time) on the first Sunday in April.Where Daylight Saving Time is observed: AEST becomes Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT), and clocks are advanced to UTC +11. ACST becomes Australian Central Daylight Time (ACDT), and clocks are advanced to UTC +10 ½.

Daylight Saving Time is not observed in Queensland, the Northern Territory or Western Australia.

Confused yet?

There's also a public holiday today for three states. It celebrates Labour Day.

Celebrating the Australian labour movement, the Labour Day public holiday is fixed by the various state and territory governments, and so varies considerably. It is the first Monday in October in the Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales and South Australia. In both Victoria and Tasmania, it is the second Monday in March (though the latter calls it Eight Hours Day). In Western Australia, Labour Day is the first Monday in March. In both Queensland and the Northern Territory, it is the first Monday in May.

How are you doing with all of that info?

There's more.

The Commonwealth Games started today, or last night, depending on your time zone. For those members of the Commonwealth still attached to the mother country of England by the umbilical cord because you're too useless to cut them and grow up, oh, wait, that would be us, then you know your people have left to try and win some medals.

Don't bother, we'll be winning them all.
Jewels xxoo

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...